On the trail again

Recently I went to a writing group for cancer survivors.  The coordinator gave us prompts, letting us write for several minutes after each prompt.  I was surprised to find that much of my writing that day had to do with hiking.

It’s been many months since I’ve been able to take a proper hike – and even more since I’ve taken a proper hike.  Between the cancer diagnosis and subsequent surgery, the job from hell before that, and a long bout with bronchitis, I haven’t been in a place to hike since before Christmas.

God, how I miss the trail.  There are moments on the trail when my heart feels like bursting.  When I look around, amazed by the greatness, the beauty, the power.  When a cool breeze tickles my face, when I’m on top of the world, looking down on everything.  When I feel at one with the universe and all the life it holds.

I feel strong on the trail.  Even when I’m huffing and puffing and stopping every 2 minutes because the path is so steep, I feel strong.  When I get blisters on my feet I feel strong.  When I flop down on the ground, utterly exhausted at the end of a hike I feel strong.

It has been almost a month and a half since my surgery and I feel like my body is almost ready to hike again.  (Apparently, my brain is already ready to go.)  My stamina is up – I can walk 2 miles on flat ground now.  The lingering pain around my incision is gone.

Next week I’m traveling to New Mexico and I am packing my hiking shoes.  It may be a short one, but I plan to hike a trail while I’m there.  It’ll be the first of many more trails in my future.

One thought on “On the trail again

  1. You’ll find a hike in New Mexico. When you get back and crave chili we can meet at green chili kitchen in sf 🙂

Leave a Reply

