Visiting the vampires

Today is my lab test day. Each week I have a few vials of blood taken out and tested. My left arm seems to have a semi permanent bruise in the crook of the elbow, to the chagrin of some of the techs. They don’t like to leave bruises. Seems to be a point of pride for them.

I’m just glad that they are all so good at sucking my blood out. I’m not comfortable with needles – who is? – and have had some bad experiences where they’ve had to poke me 7 or 8 times before getting anything.

Now, though, I can approach the blood draws with a sense of calm. I do a few deep breaths and just go with it, even chatting up the techs a bit.

Because it beats the alternative.

Now on to the pharmacy.

Leave a Reply

