New Mexico!

I am back from an almost perfect trip to New Mexico.  My mother and I shopped for jewelry and art in Santa Fe, soaked in the pools at Ojo Caliente, explored the pueblo in Taos, and enjoyed a variety of delicious meals and sights along the way.

Santa Fe’s sights were almost overwhelming.  But it was a pleasure to chat with native artists at the Portal, and lunch with my friend, Ann, at La Fonda hotel’s La Plazuela was a delight.

Fence Post, Posi

Fence Post near the Posi Ruins, Ojo Caliente, NM.

When we reached Ojo Caliente, I was finally able to hike!  I spent part of our first morning heading up to the Posi Ruins, where there were old pot shards a plenty, along with amazing views of the Sangre de Christo mountains.

Sunset at Ojo Caliente

Sunset at Ojo Caliente

The sunsets were also fabulous, as were the dips in the various pools – iron pool, arsenic pool, soda pool.

Taos Pueblo

Taos Pueblo

We drove up to Taos and enjoyed shopping and the galleries in the downtown area.  We spent a morning at the Pueblo, eating fry bread, talking to the locals, and enjoying the sites.  (I know!  Fry bread.  But it was so good.)

During the trip, my mom and I got a chance to hang out on our own, which we rarely get, and never for so long.  We had some good talks, both among ourselves and with others, with topics often centered on cancer (of course), but also ranging to other areas.

4 thoughts on “New Mexico!

  1. Lisa, quickly scanning through your blog I need to tell you, I’ve felt every single thing you have written about, and probably will continue to as long as I’m blessed to be here. I look forward to spending some time reading in more depth, but needed to tell you that you are not alone in your thoughts and feelings, and are completely justified in all of them. Feel free to reach out if you ever want/need to discuss with someone on the same path.

    • Thank you! One of my goals of this blog is to be able to connect with other people who are living with cancer. It is so good to know I’m not alone! (though I wish we could all be together on a better path)

  2. I had a great time. It was fun relaxing, reading, talking and talking, eating and eating. I am so glad you were able to go with me. And I loved being able to drive you all around from ABQ to Taos and back.

Leave a Reply

