The First 100 Days

Yesterday marked 100 days since I was diagnosed with kidney cancer. And what a hundred days it was – the surgery, beginning to deal with the diagnosis, starting treatment, getting a good scan, continuing to deal with the diagnosis, finding out my mother has kidney cancer, too.

I wish I could go back to the weekend before I was diagnosed, when I was weeding my front garden, and beginning to rip out the ivy in the back yard. When I was looking forward to lots of new projects – gardening, building websites, practicing coding, and of course, hiking.

I still have lots to look forward to. I’m off to meet my friend, Rob, for a hike in a little while. I’ve got trips to take this fall – Washington, Colorado, Mexico. My children never cease to amaze me (mostly in good ways). I’ve got websites to work on, a garden to coddle along, and many, many trails to hike.

I just wish it weren’t all tainted with cancer. That’s all.

Leave a Reply

