Living lightly

Since completing my therapy sessions, I’ve been living the past month or two more “lightly”.  Although I think about cancer often, the thoughts are more fleeting, less all-consuming.  I am not living in denial, but the work I did in therapy has given me the ability to better regulate my feelings about cancer and dying.  I don’t want to go deep right now, and can put the introspection and dealing with the prognosis aside for a while.

We’ve been starting to plan for the future again – a welcome change.  We are planning trips, both as a couple and for the whole family.  I’m beginning a watercolor class; I just bought all of the supplies, and we’ll start painting on Wednesday.  I have an interview this week to join the hiking patrol for the regional park system, and yesterday we had the first hike for Together on the Path.

Although I haven’t had time to meditate like I wish, and haven’t done as much drawing or writing, I can recognize that I do have control over those things, and it’s really up to me to carve out the time for those activities.  But, overall, I like living like this.  There’s been little drama, and my life feels quite full of good things.  And for all of that, I’m very grateful.

One thought on “Living lightly

Leave a Reply

