After the break

After taking a break from my cancer meds, all of the hairs that had turned wispy and silver grey start coming in thick and dark.

This creates a striped pattern, somewhat reminiscent of tree rings – you can chart my dosage history in the grey and light and dark brown sections.

I’m also reminded that hair grows not only on my head, and grudgingly pull out the razor and the tweezer again.

In a few more weeks it’ll be back to the new normal. One that still startles me when I see my image reflected in a window or on a photo, but which is growing more familiar with time.

2 thoughts on “After the break

Leave a Reply

