How do you measure your life?

On Friday, I had a phone call with my oncologist.  We discussed the ins and outs of re-starting the Inlyta.  (I’ll take my first (second first?) dose in a few minutes, after I cut the pills in half.)  He hooked me up with the palliative care team at Kaiser; I’ll meet with them on Tuesday, and hope to get help with a number of things including pain relief and  fatigue relief, as well as (I hope) exploring how to make as much of the rest of my life as possible.

The other thing we talked about was my prognosis.  In my email to him, I’d asked to discuss this with him on the phone, and he was willing to do that.  He approached everything as statistical, which was slightly frustrating because I want to know what’s going to happen with me.  Of course, he can’t give me that information.  I know that he has to deal in statistics, not crystal balls.

So here’s the low down.

Statistically, if I were to go untreated, they’d expect me to live about a year.

Statistically, people who take Inlyta averaged about 2 years after starting Inlyta.

He was quick to point out that the latter statistic includes people who make it a month, but also people who keep on going on for years.  (And for those who haven’t read it, I highly recommend Stephen Jay Gould’s essay, The Median Isn’t the Message. )

On one hand, I’d been preparing myself for the first number to be 6 months.  On the other, I was hoping to hear a statistic of a few more years than that, so a little bit of relief and a bit more disappointment.  But on the whole, I feel more grounded with this news.  Once I’d heard that the pazopanib wasn’t working any more, I felt very adrift, unsure of what to expect.  Being given some numbers to work with helps me to put everything into perspective, whether it’s dealing with side effects, planning vacations, spending time with family and friends, figuring out what needs to be done before I die.  I’m alternately crying in the shower and happily making plans for what I want from my life.  (Christmas in Hawaii?  CHECK!)  Mostly, I’m attempting to get fully back into the positive state of mind that I’ve had.

Oliver Sacks just wrote an essay in the New York Times on learning he has terminal cancer.  Much of what he wrote resonated with me, particularly this excerpt:

I feel intensely alive, and I want and hope in the time that remains to deepen my friendships, to say farewell to those I love, to write more, to travel if I have the strength, to achieve new levels of understanding and insight.

He writes, also, of gratitude and feelings of privilege, and I recognize those feelings in myself.

I often hear people talk of a journey with cancer as a battle – obituaries that state “She lost her 5 year battle with cancer”.  Since my diagnosis, I’ve not been able to apply that framework to myself.  First of all, there’s that saying, “Don’t pick a fight you can’t win.”  I know I’ll lose this one eventually.  But, more to the point, if I spend my time battling cancer, then that takes time and energy away from what I want to do – live.

I want to live long and large and loud.  I want to live with my family, on trails in the forests, sitting on the beach, reading a book, watching a movie, cuddling with my cat.  I want to laugh with my friends, see places I haven’t seen before, make art and crafts that please me and others, make art and crafts that everyone hates.  I want to leave a wealth of memories for the people I’ll leave behind.

And I want to thank you all for staying on this journey with me.  It’s not a journey that any of us expected, and I recognize that I am the only one who has to stay on it.  So I thank you for your company and support.  It means so much to me.

10 thoughts on “How do you measure your life?

  1. I am glad you mentioned that he was talking statistics and not about you. I ask you to keep that in mind as you continue living your life. The expectancy can change, things may come about in that time, and that time may not apply to you. Live as long as you can, as best as you can, that’s all anyone can do, cancer or no. Life is a terminal disease. Some of us a just have a better idea of how and when it might end for us than others. I am hoping you live a good life for many, many years to come. I promise you will be remembered, even by people like me who never really met you.

  2. So wonderfully stated Lisa. I think the biggest “gift” I received from the Cancer diagnosis was to change my perspective from always planning ahead to living for now as much as possible.
    Much love to you.

  3. Dear Lisa,

    I just read your latest posting here. It’s beautiful and terrifying at the same time. It’s been a long time since we spoken mainly because I have been afraid. I sincerely apologize for this and hope that we can speak more soon. My love and prayers to you and your family. Brent

  4. Just remember your doctors are not soothsayers. No one can predict the future. You are not a statistic. You ARE an amazing strong woman. Enjoy each day and live life without thinking about “time.” I know several cancer patients who are still alive, even though “statically” they shouldn’t be. xo

Leave a Reply

