Catching up on Sutent

I’ve been on Sutent for almost two weeks now, and so far, it’s going ok. The best change is that I don’t feel as wiped out as I did on Inlyta. I mean, I’ve actually cleaned the litter box – voluntarily. Both of them! And today, Molly and I spent the day shopping in and walking around San Francisco, which would have been unheard of a month or two ago. We only walked a mile (plus the shopping), and I came home exhausted, but I couldn’t have done it while on the other medication.

I am noticing side effects cropping up. I’ve got hand-foot syndrome, which shows up on me as redness and a sensation of burning on my palms and the soles of my feet. It’s been manageable, but it is becoming more uncomfortable. I will probably contact my doctors to see if they have any tricks. The worst part of the hand-foot syndrome is that using my sewing machine seems to make it worse. Probably the vibrations of the machine.

I’m also experiencing changes in my taste buds. It started with spicy foods (and tooth paste) being painful. Now I’ve found that I can’t taste salt, and sweet things taste off. Those are hard. No more french fries or ice cream for me. Even water tastes metallic. Kind of gross.

And finally, diarrhea. So much fun, but not too bad yet.

All of these side effects are ones I’ve had before, and it is nice to have some ideas of how to deal with them. I’m also bracing myself for the side effects to get worse. There’s a reason why Sutent is prescribed in cycles of 4 weeks on, 2 weeks off. I hope that it won’t get too bad or that if it does get bad, it’s only towards the end of the 4 weeks.

For now, I’m just thrilled that I have enough energy to do things with friends and family. And that I don’t feel like I have a fog in my head. I kind of feel human again!

2 thoughts on “Catching up on Sutent

  1. Feeling human is an excellent thing, and in the middle of those side effects, a real triumph. When I had hand-foot, my onc gave me a tube of Udderly Smooth, a cream from Ohio that apparently was originally an udder cream (I had breast cancer, so the weirdness of that was not lost on me). I think it’s sold in all kinds of stores in the States. http://www.udderlysmooth.com . Calendula cream worked well too, as did draping hands and feet with cool water-soaked towels—messy but felt good. When my taste buds went (I could only describe it as having my tongue wrapped in vaseline) all I liked was club soda with lemon and/or lime slices. I basically ate what didn’t hurt. I managed to put on weight at this point. Go figure. Diarrhea didn’t happen much because of all the opioids, so I have nothing to help there. You’ve been really good about rationing and conserving your energy, and I hope you continue to find energy for the good stuff. Hugs to you.

  2. You looked really great at the 4H picnic Lisa. It was great to see you and vent about Kaiser. I hope the feeling human part stays a little longer.

Leave a Reply

