Late August Update

I see that it’s been a while, so let me catch you up. 

Remember my last post, where I talked about how the side effects of Sutent weren’t too bad?  Less than 24 hours after I wrote that I ended up at the emergency room after the advice nurse told me to come in. I had a low grade fever (~100.2) and chills, apparently a UTI.  The doctor gave me some antibiotics to take home with me and stressed that if my temperature went up again, or if I wasn’t feeling better, that I needed to come back in. 

The next day, more fever and chills, so back to the ER. Poor Reil – he and the kids had tickets to a ball game, and I pretty much forced him to leave me there. My friend, Inta, met us there and watched over me as I lay on a bench in the waiting room, looking every bit the hobo. A little later Yvonne and Maureen  showed up, too, and all 3 took good care of me. 

I was taken in, and copious amounts of blood were taken. Eventually they moved me to the observation part of the ER, and the next morning they made the decision to admit me.  My white blood cell count was very low, and they worried about a kidney infection or c-diff, both of which were ruled out. 

I spent most of my three days in the hospital sleeping while they gave me iv antibiotics.  After coming home, I remained mostly couch bound while I  got my strength back. 

My oncologist and I decided that we both wanted to try to make Sutent work, so last Friday I started a new cycle at 3/4 dose. I’m feeling good so far, but believe  me when I say I’m paying much closer attention to how my body is reacting. 

2 thoughts on “Late August Update

Leave a Reply

