Mid October – Starting a new cycle

On Friday night, after a 14 day break, I started up my second full cycle of Sutent. I am LOVING this medicine, and I really hope that it is doing its job, and continues to do it for a long time.

Yes, the side effects are harder to deal with than my first med, Votrient, and if every day were like my 4th week of being on Sutent, then it would be more difficult to deal with than my second med, Inlyta. But I get the break, and that makes all the difference in the world – in dealing with both the physical side effects and, more so, the psychological effects.

The last two weeks were awesome. My last dose of the cycle was on a Thursday night, and by Monday, my feet and whole body felt back to normal. I could feel the side effects lessening before then, too. I had energy. I was fully mobile (though out of shape, so not doing any hiking yet). I could eat spicy food – Indian! Mexican! Yum! But most of all, I felt normal. I felt hopeful. I was looking forward to life. And, really, the emotional uptick wasn’t just the last two weeks, but the whole cycle. Compare that to being on Inlyta, where I often had thoughts of “maybe dying would be easier than this.”

So yes, I’m a fan.

That being said, there are side effects. Two doses in, and I am a little more tired. This afternoon, I am noticing a bit of the burning sensation in my hands and my feet. It’s really only at the “Yes, I feel you there, you sneaky little side effect” stage, and no where close to the “Dammit, why do you vex me and keep me from walking???” stage. I’ll get to that latter stage eventually (probably in two and a half weeks or so), but everything is manageable now. And later on, I’ll be able to count down the days until I get to take a break, so even if I’m wincing in pain as I walk, I know it’ll be over soon.

My oncologist and I had a chat earlier in the week. Among the questions he asked was “How is your weight? Have you lost very much?” Big sigh from me. I WISH! Instead, I gained. Thanks body. I appreciate that.

My goal for this cycle is to swim at least once a week, preferably twice a week. I can do that even when I can’t walk, and hopefully, the continuing exercise will make my fitness level jump up enough to be able to hike a bit during the next break. (And by bit, I mean at all.) Hopefully by then, too, the unending heat will have stopped and fall will have finally come to the bay area. That’ll make it even more pleasant.

Leave a Reply

