Hospice 

Tuesday night I got almost 10 hours of sleep. Despite that, I napped from 1-2:30 and 3-5 on Wednesday. When I went to bed last night I felt out of sorts, and exhausted. 

During the night I went to the bathroom four times. I didn’t make it any of the four times. But more concerning was the fact that each trip got increasingly difficult, at a rate that was extremely scary. I had no coordination in my limbs and my right arm was once again feeling dead.

My oncologist and I talked on the phone this morning, and his first recommendation was to take 2 steroids. And then 2 later. Tomorrow I’ll go back to the 3 per day I was on. 

He feels that this indicates that the cancer has continued to move into the brain and or spinal column.  His feeling is that any more treatment wouldn’t do much good. 

I was disappointed, but I can’t say I’m surprised. And since the idea of having help in the home managing everything that’s going on seems so much easier, I’ve decided to go into hospice.

We are hoping that the hospice the will come by this afternoon. I have a lot to ask. 

11 thoughts on “Hospice 

  1. I want to thank you. Your courage in the face of what you have been through and are going through has been inspiring and prevented me from feeling sorry for myself during my fight.

  2. I’m sorry that it has come to this. I’m not sure what to say, but I’m saddened with this news. I have been impressed with your courage, bravery and your willingness to write about it so openly and honestly. I just wish there was more I could do to help. Hugs and love from Baltimore.

  3. Hospice workers are angels on Earth. I’m sad that you’ve had to make this decision, but I am happy that you are allowing them to come and help you and your family live with this cancer as long and as comfortably as you can. Sending so much love to you, Lisa.

  4. Thank God for hospice. I love to hear that you are not stubborn and ask for help. You have taught us so much. Much love to you.

  5. Lisa, several olds in WC class asked about you ester day. Maria and Mimi, for 2. They were very sad to learn of the recent turn of events. You are showing such courage in dealing with the cancer. You continue to be in my prayers.

    Luv and Hugs

    Marcia

Leave a Reply

