Into hospice, out of crisis

I’m happy to report that I’m feeling much, much better. The steroids are kicking in, and I can walk much better, and my right arm has more strength. 

We’ve been working on making the house work better for me, to. We rearranged the living room so that I can wheel right up to one of the chairs, and get in with just a step or two. 

I have a shower seat which makes bathing comfortable. I have a commode next to the bed. I suspect I’ll get a hospital bed in the next few weeks. 

I finally realized that the reason I’d been having crazy sweats was because the steroids were making me even more insulin resistant.  Measured my blood glucose and it’s been in the high 300s. I now have insulin, and while I still get high spikes, I’m not getting the sweats, and am much more comfortable. And isn’t that the point of hospice?  Also, I keep joking that the worries with high blood sugar levels are the long term effects. And, yeah.  Anyhow, sweets are probably not the best things to bring over, as much as it pains me to say that.  I love macadamia nuts, though. 

The whole family is having a hard time, understandably.  But we are also making some emotional breakthroughs.  Stress, fighting, love, talking. We’ve got a lot to do, and not nearly enough time to do it. So much to fit in.  I had a long emotional talk with Molly today, and a shorter, but perhaps more profound, time with Jacob. It breaks my heart to do this to them.

A lot of people have asked to visit this weekend,  and I’m sorry to have turned you all down. The coming weekends will be slightly less crazy, I hope. And if you don’t mind visiting in groups, or having collective visiting times, I think we can make it work.

The hospice nurse said they don’t want me staying alone.  I’m not sure I’m going to be cooperative on that measure in the near future, though I do have people lined up for another week and a half.   But I think there may be days ahead in the future where Reil may need to work, and none of my family can be here.  No commitments now, but please think about whether you might be able to spare a day in the future to babysit me. I’d rather spend the day with a friend than an in home care giver I don’t know. 

Other help we may need is dealing with getting a wheelchair up to and down from the house.  Right now I can walk it, but I don’t know what the future holds.  I hope to meet with people who have ideas, but I’m afraid that the costs of ramps etc might be more than is reasonable for a short term use. 

We are getting sign ups for Tuesday meals, and that is so helpful. Remember that we are holding potlucks on Thursday nights, 6-8, too. If you want to bring extra, feel free!

One more way to help, once it dries up a bit, would be to help pull weeds in the front yard.   All of this rain…good for California, craziness for my yard. 

Love you all.  Lisa

6 thoughts on “Into hospice, out of crisis

  1. Can you leave recordings for Molly and for Jake? Your words may fade but the sound of your voice will likely give profound comfort some day down the long road ahead.

  2. You can count on me to babysit you when the time comes that you need help or even if Reilly’s just needs to get away for an hour or so. Maybe we can work on some watercolors or if you want I can help with your quilts if you feel up to that. If not we don’t have to do anything. As you’ll probably remember I took care of my friend all during hospice. I look forward to helping you all that I can.

    I’m planning on dropping dinner off around 4 on Tuesday and there should be enough for two meals. See you then.

    Luv and Blessings

    Marcia

  3. Lisa, I’m available to stop in and sit awhile this week T-W-Th. Don’t know my schedule yet for the following week but will mostly be working Fri- Sunday’s. I love you and treasure the brief time I’ve known you. Please know that we’ll help however we can.

Leave a Reply

